JTTC Inauguration

jttc InaugurationThe Jubilee Technical Training Centre (JTTC) has inaugurated its Centre Management Board (CMB). The Board which will be the decision making body for the Centre has representatives from the Jubilee Partners, the Takoradi Polytechnic and TTE-UK, the training consultants for the Centre. They were sworn into office by the Legal Officer of Takoradi Polytechnic, Mr. Samuel Ahorlu Adinkrah In his welcome address, the Rector of Takoradi Polytechnic, Rev. Prof. Daniel A. Nyarko recounted the relationship between the Polytechnic and the Jubilee Partners from the inception of the JTTC project through the commissioning of the Centre to the inauguration of the CMB. He noted that the MOU between the Polytechnic and the Jubilee Partners specifically requires the setting of a CMB. He added that he had always insisted on the setting of the CMB and was glad the CMB is finally being inaugurated. He urged members to work to the tenets of the MOU. With the CMB in place, he hopes the Centre will work autonomously. Giving a brief history of the Centre, the Rector referred members to a publication in a very recent GETENERGY journal which he said captures the full story. He recounted how upon the discovery of oil in commercial quantities, there was no institution in Ghana with the capacity to train the required technicians for the industry. Based on this need, the Polytechnic, taking advantage of its closeness to the oil find, initiated moves to get the Jubilee partners establish the Jubilee Technical Training Centre (JTTC). It has since been a success story. . He welcomed the members to their new roles, wished them well and urged them to work to the expectations of stakeholders Responding, the chairman of the Board thanked Members for electing him as the first Chairman of the CMB. He paid glowing tribute to the Jubilee Partners for establishing the Training Centre. He made special mention of Mr. Keith Mutimer and others for their immense commitment to seeing the Centre established. He also thanked the Rector for his commitment and inspiration. He promised to continue the good work of the Project Steering Committee to help the Centre develop. In his closing remarks, the Chairman for the ceremony whis is also Chairman of the Governing Council of Takoradi Polytechnic, Mr. Joseph Mensah, urged members to immediately take up their work which was hitherto being done by the Polytechnic Management. He also appealed to the CMB to inform the Polytechnic of any decision of the Board that might affect the Polytechnic in any way. Members of the Board are: Mr. Joseph Klemesu TGL Chairman Mr. Lek Amoa-Forson TGL Member Mr. Andrew K. Koomson T’POLY Member Mr. Victor K. Sunu-Attah GNPC Member Ms. Sara Marshall TTE Member Mr. Michael Levy TTE Member Mr. Matthew K. Gyan T’POLY Member Mr. Paul O. Krah T’POLY Secretary